NASA and Apple Music join forces to release 8 singles and a short movie

Six years since Juno’s launch it entered orbit around Jupiter earlier this month, and to celebrate Apple Music and NASA have released a short film with musical accompaniment from renowned artists.

The collection, titled Destination: Jupiter, features a collection of 8 singles from famous artists decorated with gorgeous, spacey artwork. The songs are used to accompany Visions of Harmony, a short documentary which is available for free through iTunes and Apple Music for free.

Visions of Harmony takes a look at Juno’s journey to Jupiter from conception to today, where it currently orbits the planet. The documentary features key investigator Scott Bolton, as well as appearances by Corinne Bailey Rae, QUIÑ, and Daye Jack where the artists will talk about their interests in space as a soundtrack composed by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross plays.

To create the music NASA sent sounds that their Juno probe picked up from Jupiter to artists to use within the songs. Artists involved include Trent Reznor, Corinne Bailey Rae, Weezer, GZA the Genius, and Zoé.

NASA space music apple music

Apple vice-president Robert Kondrk said: “The goal is to make science and technology more accessible and relatable to everyone.” Whilst Bolton spoke on using Jupiter’s sounds in the music, saying that the artists “can literally play Jupiter”.It seems like it won’t just be the artists on the bill that will get to use Jupiter’s sounds as they plan to make the sound data available in future for more collaborations.

Move did a track-by-track breakdown of all the songs that you can read here. Here are all the songs that were released alongside the short film:

Sister by Brad Paisley

The Skies Will Break (Juno Mix) by Corinne Bailey Rae

The Spark by GZA the Genius

Everything (The Universe) [feat. Lydia Burrell] by Jim James

Lightspeed by QUIÑ

Juno by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross

I Love The USA by Weezer

Panspermia by Zoé

The songs are available on Apple Music and for $1.29 on the iTunes store.

Head of Social Media and Marketing, RouteNote

BPI argue streaming already works better, label cuts are diminishing artist profits

During an ongoing inquiry by the UK government into the economics of the still-fairly-fresh music streaming model, the BPI have claimed that streaming may already be an improvement on physical and warn against too radical an upheaval.

Top 10 most followed non-editorial playlists on Deezer in 2021

Playlist placement is big business in the music streaming industry, but the major playlists from the services themselves aren’t the only ones with millions of daily listeners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *