Image from Loverecordstores

The Campaign Has Dropped Their Top 100 Independent Albums Of 2020

On Thursday 26th March, during the first wave if the pandemic and subsequent lockdowns the music community launched the high profile, global initiative to help independent record stores during the crisis. Many independent record stores faced a catastrophic drop in custom due to having to close doors during the lockdown, there was a genuine fear that many would have to close their doors permanently if nothing was done to stimulate sales. Many music companies and celebrities (including Elton John, Paul Weller and Kate Tempest) pledged their support to this campaign. 

The #loverecordstores hashtag was created and used by the wider music community to encourage music lovers and fans to shop online whilst in lockdown. The campaign was and is hugely successful and culminated in a day-long event on 20th June, featuring over 130 independent record stores. The day saw dozens of new and reissued vinyl release from the likes of Oasis, Radiohead and Arctic Monkeys, not to mention generating £1m in revenue. 

Fast forward to December and the campaign is now rolling out the inaugural ‘Independent Albums Of The Year’ initiative. The top 100 albums list is curated by a cross section of notable record stores including Drift, Resident, Rough Trade, Normans, Piccadilly, Bear Tree, Assai, Banquet, Stranger Than Paradise, Bleep and Monorail as well as many others. 

In addition to this there will be a selection of new vinyl exclusives available to buy & preorder in store & online. 

Without further ado here is #loverecords Top 100 Albums Of 2020: 

Four Tet – Sixteen Oceans

Phoebe Bridgers – Punisher 

Moses Boyd – Dark Matter

Kelly Lee Owens – Inner Song

Gil Scott Heron – We’re New Again: A Re-Imagining By Makaya McCraven

The Orielles – Disco Volador 

Rose City Band – Summerlong 

Khruangbin – Mordechai 

Working Men’s Club – Working Men’s Club 

Fontaines D.C. – A Hero’s Death 

Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs – Viscerals 

Porridge Radio – Every Bad 

Daniel Avery & Allessandro Cortini – Illusion Of Time 

Erland Cooper – Hether Blether 

Keeley Forsyth – Debris 

Aoife Nessa Frances – Land Of No Junction 

BC Camplight – Shortly After Takeoff 

Pottery – Welcome to Bobby’s Motel 

Cornershop – England Is A Garden 

Bill Callahan – Gold Record 

Waxahatchee – Saint Cloud 

Kamal Williams – Wu Hen 

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Sideways To New Italy 

Sault – Untitled (Black) 

Brigid Dawson & The Mothers Network – Ballet Of Apes

Caribou – Suddenly 

Yves Tumor – Heaven To A Tortured Mind 

Julianna Barwick – Healing Is A Miracle 

Sonic Boom – All Things Being Equal 

Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter 

Georgia – Seeking Thrills 

Crack Cloud – Pain Olympics 

Baxter Dury – The Night Chancers 

Perfume Genius – Set My Heart On Fire Immediately 

Hania Rani – Home 

Protomartyr – Ultimate Success Today 

Fuzz – III 

The Beths – Jump Rope Gazers

Juniore – Un Deux Trois 

Flat Worms – Antarctica 

The Lovely Eggs – I Am Moron 

Jarv Is… – Beyond The Pale 

Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela – Rejoice 

Green-House -Six Songs For Invisible Gardens 

Osees – Protean Threat 

IDLES – Ultra Mono 

Thundercat – It Is What It Is

Modern Nature – Annual 

Hinds – The Prettiest Curse

Peel Dream Magazine – Agitprop Alterna 

BDRMM – Bedroom 

Craven Faults – Erratics & Unconformities 

Rival Consoles – Articulation 

Jason Molina – Eight Gates 

Sunwatchers – Oh Yeah?

Bing & Ruth – Species 

Stephen Malkmus – Traditional Techniques 

Nadia Reid – Out Of My Province 

Angel Olsen – Whole New Mess

Trees Speak – OHMS

Tim Burgess – I Love The New Sky

Sarah Davachi – Cantus, Descant 

This Is The Kit – Off Off On 

Bananagun – The True Story Of Bananagun 

Sorry – 925 

Soccer Mommy – Color Theory 

Laraaji – Sun Piano 

Future Islands – As Long As You Are 

Daniel Blumberg – On & On 

Shopping – All Or Nothing 

Daniel Avery – Love + Light 

Grimes – Miss Anthropocene 

King Krule – Man Alive! 

Damaged Bug – Bug On Yonkers 

Brigid Mae Power – Head Above Water 

Knxwledge – 1988 

Car Seat Headrest – Making A Door Less Open 

Adrianne Lenker – Songs And Instrumentals 

Mark Lanegan – Straight Songs Of Sorrow 

Mary Lattimore – Silver Ladders 

Bibio – Sleep On The Wing 

Jehnny Beth – To Love Is To Live 

Marie Davidson & L’oeil Nu – Renegade Breakdown 

Ghostpoet – I grow Tired But Dare Not Fall Asleep 

Nap Eyes – Snapshot Of A Beginner 

Kevin Morby – Sundowner 

Willie J Healey – Twin Heavy 

The Soft Pink Truth – Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase?

Sven Wunder – Wabi Sabi 

Douglas Dare – Milkteeth 

LA Priest – Gene 

Black Pumas – Black Pumas 

Mike Polizze – Long Lost Solace Find 

Katie Von Schleicher – Consummation 

Field Music – Making A New World 

Modern Studies – The Weight Of The Sun 

Islet – Eyelet 

U.S Girls – Heavy Light 

Sufjan Stevens – The Ascension 

Woods – Strange To Explain