Today would have been Prince’s 58th birthday and in celebration Jay Z’s streaming service Tidal are adding 15 albums of Prince rarities like B-sides, live albums, unreleased recordings, etc.

Before his death earlier this year the internationally renowned and adored musician Prince signed his music to exclusively stream through Tidal. Now on the 58th anniversary of Prince’s birth the Jay Z owned streaming service are adding a bunch of new and rare music from the prolific musician.

The new albums are bookended by his 1987 release The Black Album, and Indigo Nights – a live album from 2008 that came packaged with a coffee table book. The albums feature a lot of experimental music from Prince, that may not appeal to core fans. A lot of the releases were born after Prince escaped his contract with Warner Bros. and become the leader of his own creativity, leading to experimentation and more prominence on spirituality.

After Jay Z relaunched the music streaming service as Tidal Prince removed his music from other services to stream exclusively on Tidal. After that Prince went on to release 2 new albums exclusively on Tidal: HITNRUN Phase One and HITNRUN Phase Two. Prince explained why in a statement last year, saying:

After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognize and applaud the effort that real musicians put in2 their craft 2 achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry. Secondly, Tidal have honored Us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows Us to continue making art in the fashion We’ve grown accustomed 2 and We’re Extremely grateful 4 their generous support. And lastly, in the tech-savvy, real-time world We all live in 2day, everything is faster. From its conception and that one & only meeting, HITNRUN took about 90 days 2 prepare its release. If that’s what freedom feels like, HITNRUN is what it sounds like.

Here’s the full list of new Prince albums on Tidal:

  • The Black Album (1987)
  • The Gold Experience (1995)
  • Chaos & Disorder (1996)
  • Crystal Ball (1998)
  • 1999: The New Master (1999)
  • Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
  • Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
  • The Rainbow Children (2001)
  • One Nite Alone … Live! (2002)
  • One Nite Alone … The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over (2002)
  • Indigo Nights (2008)

The New Power Generation (Prince’s backing band):

  • Exodus (1995)
  • New Power Soul (1998)


  • 1-800-NEW-FUNK (1994)
  • Girl 6 – Official (1996)