Arcade Fire Call Their New Album “The Suburbs”

Arcade Fire have named their third album The Suburbs. According to Spin, The Suburbs will be released on August 3rd, was recorded in New York and Montreal, and produced by the band. The disc will be preceded by a 12” single featuring the songs noted above, and the album itself will be released in a multitude of ways to ensure that you won’t download it illegally, as well as pay far too much, including CD format, a digital download, and a “$44.99 package that includes double 12″ vinyl, a digital version, and a signed, limited edition poster.”

Providing Meaningful Partners

A couple of days ago we wrote a quick article informing our artists that we will no longer be supporting through our platform. Artists can now sign up directly to the service and receive royalties, thus RouteNote was not required in this process.

I would like to thank all the press who picked up on this story:

Hypebot – RoutNote is pulling it’s clients tracks from music site because it says royalty payments have been too low.

Digital Music News – CBS has experienced difficulty ramping premiums and creating a meaningful revenue picture.

Billboard Biz – RouteNote artists are free to join on their own. has a great service and we really encourage our artists to join the service directly, then they can use the service for promotional purposes and earn more revenues.

Ollie Wride: An Artist to Watch

I’m a fairly boring and entirely predictable cliche of a ‘cynical’ man. My default reaction to almost anything, be it music, television or a sentient being is to pick holes and find reasons not to like it. If I were asked to make a list of everything I hate in the world you would find pretty close to the top of that list dancing, hot weather and the sound of others having fun.
With this in mind, Ollie Wride – an artist who describes his music as ‘Glam Pop’, and sees himself as ‘Mr. Gaga’ was arguably at something of a disadvantage as I boarded a Brixton bound bus hotter than the earth’s core and full of screaming children, with nothing but four of his songs to provide me with a much needed departure from reality.

Ollie Wride is an exciting, fun and addictive singer/songwriter, whose music is packed full of camp charisma and personifies everything brilliant about pop music. The perfectly produced electro-pop backing is inventive and interesting enough to grab your attention and send endorphins rushing to your brain, whilst Ollie’s unique and commanding voice provides the personality that perfect his treats for your ears.
Each song reminds you of every great pop song you’ve ever heard. He sticks to a perfect and textbook formula that leads you down a familiar and friendly path before presenting you with an explosive, catchy and climactic chorus.

To write a song that has the rare quality of feeling instantly memorable requires real skill. To do it time and time again is sensational, and that is exactly what I think Ollie Wride will be – a sensation. From the selection I was given (all of which can be found on his Myspace) a standout track was difficult to select, but as an introduction I have included a youtube video for his song ‘Pop Music’.

‘Camp’ is fun. However how much of a football loving, beer drinking, bear wrestling, chest beating caveman you like to think of yourself being – a sprinkling of glitter, some tight fitting jeans and a blast of Ollie Wride will be sure to get that primitive hoof of yours tapping whilst putting the biggest grin on your face in no time at all. When listening to this I’m reminded that this world is on occasion a pretty nice place to exist in and if this little genius fails to make you smile, you need to get yourself to a doctor and check that your heart is beating.

Please check out Ollie’s Myspace page and make the effort to see one of his many upcoming live shows. He is bound for stardom and has an album scheduled to be released in the near future.

Rocky Dawuni Soon to Have Big Hit with New Album

Internationally renowned Rocky Dawuni describes his new album, recorded during the recent transformative U.S. Presidential election and released today, as an uplifting exploration of social and global consciousness.

The album reflects the common spiritual, political and social aspirations felt around the world. His track “Download the Revolution” appears on Electronic Arts’ video game FIFA Soccer 2010 which has already sold millions of copies and is now available on iTunes. “African Soccer Fever/African Reggae Fever” was also just released on EA’s FIFA World Cup 2010 Videogame.

Wu-Tang Clan, Lauryn Hill and more at This Years Rock The Bells Festival

The Rock the Bells Festival is bringing back old school hip hop. The Wu-Tang Clan, KRS-One, Rakim and even Lauryn Hill are rumoured to be playing. According to RollingStone, four of hip-hop’s greatest albums will be performed in their entirety at the event. The Wu-Tang Clan will revisit their 1993 classic Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chamber); KRS-One will dig deep into his 1987 LP Criminal Minded; Rakim will deliver Paid in Full and Slick Rick will tell all with his 1988 album The Great Adventures of Slick Rick.

The four date festival will start on August in Los Angeles before visiting San Francisco’s Shoreline Amphitheatre on August 22nd. Rock the Bells will then move to East Coast for a New York date on August 28th and a Washington, D.C. date on August 29th.

Slipknot Bassist Paul Grey Found Dead in US Hotel Room

Slipknot bassist Paul Gray has been found dead in a hotel room in America, aged 38. The founding member of the group was discovered by an employee of the Town Plaza hotel in Urbandale, Des Moines, Iowa – where Slipknot hail from.

Police have said that foul play in Gray’s death is not suspected but that a full autopsy and investigation is being planned. It is believed that this will take place today, May 25.

Jamey Jasta of Hatebreed paid tribute to Gray, as did Korn, in the video below:

“Paul was a stand-up guy and a great musician. He and Slipknot changed the face of rock music as we know it. Just about every metal band member from 1999 onward owes him a salute. My condolences to his band, family and fans. We’ll miss you dearly, Paul. We are eternally grateful to you.”

Noel Gallagher Talks Time Flies Greatest Hits Album for Oasis

Oasis will be soon releasing their greatest hits album, Time Flies, and it will play ‘like a gig’ says Noel Gallagher.

Gallagher revealed the track-listing to Time Flies… 1994-2009 in a video on the band’s official Youtube channel. He also explained his strategy behind the final sequence of tracks that make up the 27 singles featured on the compilation.

Time Flies…1994-2009 will be available June 14.

Time Flies…1994-2009


  • 1. Supersonic
  • 2. Roll With It
  • 3. Live Forever
  • 4. Wonderwall
  • 5. Stop Crying Your Heart Out
  • 6. Cigarettes & Alcohol
  • 7. Songbird
  • 8. Don’t Look Back In Anger
  • 9. The Hindu Times
  • 10. Stand By Me
  • 11. Lord Don’t Slow Me Down
  • 12. Shakermaker
  • 13. All Around The World


  • 1. Some Might Say
  • 2. The Importance Of Being Idle
  • 3. D’ You Know What I Mean?
  • 4. Lyla
  • 5. Let There Be Love
  • 6. Go Let It Out
  • 7. Who Feels Love?
  • 8. Little By Little
  • 9. The Shock Of The Lightning
  • 10. She Is Love
  • 11. Whatever
  • 12. I’m Outta Time
  • 13. Falling Down