New Hot Chip Album, Tour – One Life Stand

hot chip one life stand liveHot Chip are previewing their new album ‘One Life Stand’ over on the Guardian’s website (unfortunately only fully available in the UK), via We7’s streaming service.

The album itself is a return to their previous form, mixing heavily electronic beats and samples with roomy, live sounding instruments at will, but always with delicate care and attention, Baroque sounding string synths, trashy Pixies-esque drum kits, steel drums, marimbas[?], vocoders [ sorry Justin 😉 ], and flagrantly dance sounding bass lines nestle in together under the distinctive semi-falsetto vocals rising above the tracks, blending elements of electronic music from the last two decades together in a disctinctively stylish way.

Hot Chip may not have the bass-thumping force of other electronic acts like Simian Mobile Disco and the Chemical Brothers, but this album drips energy and musicality. Check out the video of the album’s title track they’ve posted on their Dino-space – if you like it you might consider catching them on their current tour, visiting most regions of the UK before moving on to Europe and America, full listings below.

You can also pre-order the album from their website, getting yourself a free bonus track in the process (but sadly obviating the need for a digital distributor, ho hum…)


Hot Chip – One Life Stand (MySpace Exclusive)

Hot Chip | MySpace Music Videos

    Hot Chip Live Tour – 2010, One Life Stand

    • Glasgow – Academy – Fri 12 February
    • Edinburgh – Picture House – Sat 13 February
    • Nottingham – Rock City – Mon 15 February
    • Leeds – Academy – Tues 16 February
    • Newcastle – 02 Academy – Thurs 18 February
    • Manchester – Academy – Fri 19 February
    • Birmingham – 02 Academy – Sat 20 February
    • Bournemouth – 02 Academy – Mon 22 February
    • Bristol – 02 Academy – Tue 23 February
    • Norwich – 02 Academy – Weds 24 February
    • London – 02 Brixton Academy – Fri 26 February
    • London – 02 Brixton Academy – Sat 27 February
    • Holland (AMSTERDAM) – Five Days Off Festival – Saturday 6th March
    • Brussels (BELGIUM) – AB Club – Sun 7th March
    • Paris (FRANCE) – Bataclan – Monday 8th March
    • Cologne (GERMANY) – Live Music Hall – Wednesday 10th March
    • Hamburg (GERMANY) – Uebel & Gefaehrlich – Thursday 11th March
    • Berlin (GERMANY) – Astra – Friday 12th March
    • Frankfurt (GERMANY) – Mousonturm – Sunday 14th March
    • Lyon (FRANCE) – Le Ninkasi Kao – Monday 15th March
    • Toulouse (FRANCE) – Bikini – Tuesday 16th March
    • Milan (ITALY) – Magazzini Generali – Thursday 18th March
    • Oakland, CA (uSA) -Fox Theatre- 16th April
    • Chicago, IL (USA) – Riviera Theatre – 19th April
    • Toronto (CANADA) – Koolhaus – 20th April
    • New York (USA) – Terminal 5 – 22nd April
    • Washington DC (USA) – 9:30 Club – 24th April
    Im your friendly RouteBot. Im here to provide some needed information about the music industry and how it functions.

    Use your Denon DJ decks to mix songs straight from SoundCloud

    Denon and SoundCloud’s new partnership makes for the music platforms first ever hardware partnership letting DJs stream straight into their mixing flow. In the last year SoundCloud have been making their huge catalogue of music,…

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *